Skip to Main Content

Manner of Holding Elections

The Annual Municipal election shall be held at Town Hall on the second (2nd) Saturday in May every year from 8:00am until 6:00pm.
On every even year the Mayor and one (1) Councilperson from the Third Ward and one (1) Councilperson from the Fourth Ward shall be elected.
On every odd year one (1) Councilperson from the First Ward and one (1) Councilperson from the Second Ward shall be elected.
The Mayor and members of the Town Council shall serve a term of two (2) years.
The Municipal Election is conducted by a Board of Election consisting of an Inspector and two (2) Judges appointed by the Mayor of Georgetown with the concurrence of a majority of the members of the Town Council not later than the last regular meeting of the Town Council prior to the date of the election. The Board of Election shall determine who is and who is not lawfully entitled to vote at the Municipal Election, take reasonable steps to see that the law pertaining to the election receives compliance and for the purpose of counting the votes and certifying the result to the Town Council.